Piku’s Blog

January 20, 2007

Getting into Ruby on Rails

Filed under: Programming, Ruby on Rails — Mihai @ 12:08 am

Hy, while I was surfing the internet I saw something that all the people says it’s really cool and trendy: Ruby on Rails so I thought I give it a go.

Ruby on Rails is an open-source web framework that’s optimized for programmer happiness and sustainable productivity. It lets you write beautiful code by favoring convention over configuration.

OnLamp.com has a good tutorial that I started with. First thing was installing Ruby (using One-Click installer) and then typing “gem install rails –remote”. It works really good on my Windows Vista. The editor I used is Intype (currently alpha), that looks like TextMate (now I really want a Mac).

The cookbook example application works nice, it’s only a demo not a fully-blown application but it only took 47 lines of code. I’ll keep you up to date with my a PHP programmer’s RoR experience.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

